Writing, Medium, Photography

About My Story on “The Sconset Haunted House”

Don’t just research your facts; research your whole story

John Dean
2 min readSep 10, 2021

--

This is about the story I wrote for SNAPSHOTS earlier in August titled “A Haunted House in Sconset.”

Photo by J. Dean

Earlier that month, I had spent a week on Nantucket Island and visited the famous Sconset Bluff Walk. While walking the bluff, we came upon an obviously historic house in what appears to be a dilapidated condition. Because I was taking pictures that day, I stopped and took several of the house.

Upon returning home, I decided to write a piece on “the haunted house.” I called it that based on its appearance. Because the article was for a photo essay, I did not search the internet for information on the house. I later learned I was wrong.

Five minutes of research educated me on what the “haunted house” was. Including that information in my article would have made my article much better.

Photo from Nantucket Preservation Trust

A couple of days ago, after checking on the statistics for the story, I decided to put “Nantucket haunted house” into a search engine. Out came a…

--

--

John Dean

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.