Junior’s Last Hurrah?

John Dean
3 min readFeb 27, 2021

His big day at CPAC likely to be followed by prosecution

Photo by Gage Skidmore from Peoria, AZ, United States of America — Donald Trump, Jr. & Kimberly Guilfoyle, CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=98678221

I was a bit curious when I learned that Donald Trump is scheduled to speak at the CPAC conference on February 28. Although I had little doubt about what he might say, I wondered what reception he will receive. Would the Insurrectionist of January 6 receive a standing ovation?

I was also interested in what his big game hunting son, Donald, Junior, might say in his speech. What do you say when you are under investigation for fraud in more than one jurisdiction and are widely accused of joining dad in an act of insurrection? Was the conference a good time to hint you might run for president in 2024 if your dad doesn’t?

I underestimated whatever it is that inspires Junior’s words and supplies his energy. He was, as always, over the top. And that was a good thing. Junior satisfied my curiosity without my having to either read his comments or watch an entire video of it. He played the role of the reality-denying cheerleader oblivious both to the pain that awaits him, his brother, and his dad in court. My thought was that this conference, as bizarre as it has been with a gold idol of Trump being wheeled around, is Don, Jr.’s last hurrah.

My second thought is that the whole conference is a pathetic collection of misfits who relish the shock that their brand of “conservativism”…

--

--

John Dean

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.