John Dean
May 7, 2021

--

Thanks for reading the article. You may be right on some points, such as #1. I think #2 is more problematic. As I understand it, Trump getting indicted and having financial problems is a near certainty. On #3, I've seen no sign of another populist R leader. Hawley is as close as anyone comes but it is hard to imagine him appealing to anyone but the residual Trump base. I also like to think that Hawley and other potential "new leaders" would not want to pursue a coup. I think the January 6 insurrection was more about Trump's psychological problems than about policy--just my thought.

In any case, I appreciate your taking the time to respond and enhance the discussion.

--

--

John Dean

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.