What I Learned from a Two-Day Road Trip

“I” is for insights from my trip down I-95 this week

John Dean
4 min readDec 2, 2021
Photo by JameS93 via Wikimedia

Seventeen hours is a lot of time to look at cars and trips zipping down Interstate 95 as it wends its way down from Maryland to Florida. You can learn a bit about America and the human condition just by keeping your eyes open and thinking about what you have seen.

Here are the takeaways from what I saw:

There are an incredible number of truck drivers on the road at all hours of the day. I’ve heard a shortage of drivers helped cause the supply chain crisis. The drivers I saw are working overtime to solve the problem.

The worst trucks, other than the “Oversized Load” road pigs, are the fuel trucks. The drivers are fine, but I don’t like the fact that they are carrying thousands of gallons of gas and driving 80 miles per hour as they roar by me.

I saw too many of these. Photo by Antonino Visalli on Unsplash

Drivers of “boy racer” cars drive worse than the rest of us. No deep insight here, but I got sick of the Subaru WRXs, souped-up Civics, and pretty much every BMW made except the SUVs, zipping by me at 110 miles per hour. Presumably, many of the drivers were drunk or drugged or…

--

--

John Dean

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.