Photography, Nature

What’s Going on Here?

The Monarch Butterflies are at it again, this time in an Egyptian Starcluster

John Dean
2 min readMar 4, 2024

--

At first, I thought there were three Monarchs photo by J. Dean.

Next time you stumble across a “Butterfly Garden,” don’t laugh. All types of butterflies are threatened by habitat loss, pollution, and climate change. Among the threatened populations are Monarchs. We are pleased to have them around the community of Bonita Springs.

Last week, I was excited when I visited our community butterfly garden, and I found two Monarchs diligently at work to expand their numbers. At the time, I photographed them. I assumed it was a rare opportunity. I was wrong.

Monarchs Bating photo by J. Dean

On a walk earlier this week, I returned to our Butterfly Garden. I only had my camera because I was looking for birds in the same park. I never expected another opportunity to find Monarchs “in the act.”

Unlike the Monarchs I photographed last week, the pair I shot last week was on a plant, specifically an Egyptian Starcluster.

I’m looking forward to seeing more Monarchs in the future.

© 2024, John E. Dean, All Rights Reserved.

Become a Friend of Medium. Contribute more to writers and strengthen your support for the Medium community. Learn more here.

--

--

John Dean

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.