Humor, Life

Where Are the Repair People?

Treat your refrigerator with respect and pray it doesn’t break down

John Dean
3 min readDec 3, 2021

--

A new-looking but non-functioning refrigerator. Photo by J. Dean

This is not a good time for your refrigerator to break down. There is, of course, no good time for a refrigerator to break down. So let me say this is a particularly bad time for a refrigerator breakdown. Why? It is next to impossible to find someone to fix it.

I write from personal experience. I am sharing a room as I write this with a new-looking refrigerator that decided to quit two days ago. Two weeks' notice would have been nice.

I now know how important working refrigerators are to civilized society. Maybe not as important as clean water and food, but very important.

Given that I have no way to store fresh food, I don’t have time to philosophize about the mess I am in. I’m miserable. Just thinking about the refrigerator and why it had to break when it did isn’t going to get it fixed. I need professional help.

Is there a shortage of repair people or a shortage of repairpeople that want to work?

Thousands of non-functioning refrigerators await skilled technicians. There is plenty of good-paying work waiting for anyone who knows how to fix a refrigerator…

--

--

John Dean

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.